Cancelling a Domain

Cancelling a domain means that the name disappears from the Internet. Any associated website or email that uses the cancelled domain name becomes inoperable.

Once a NZ domain name has been cancelled, it is placed in a holding pool for 90 days. While a domain name remains in the holding pool, the legal Name Holder of that domain name can reactivate the domain name. Otherwise after 90 days it will be released for public registration.

Steps to Cancel a Domain

  1. Select the Domains module from the menu on the left.
  2. Select the domain you want to cancel.
  3. Click the Cancel button which can be found on the top right hand side of the page.
  4. Click the Cancel Domain button to confirm.