FTP Users

FTP (File Transfer Protocol) is the method used to transfer files to and from your hosting server. Each user will need an account setup in order to login to the FTP server and they will require an FTP client (software) to interact with the server. Here are some FTP clients that you can use to get started:

Create an FTP User

  • Once you are logged into the Control Panel click FTP Users in the left menu.
  • Click on the Server that you want to add the user to.
  • Click on Add User in menu or the plus icon on the top right of the grid.
  • Fill out the form and select which website you want the user to have access to.
  • Finally click Add User to confirm and create the user.

The option to view Advanced Mode allows you to limit the FTP user to a specific folder inside the Website path, or to a custom folder (i.e. not a website folder) as well as limiting transfer speeds.

Update Settings for an FTP User

  • Once you are logged into the Control Panel click FTP Users in the left menu.
  • Click on the Server that has the user you want to change the settings for.
  • Click on the name of the user you want to update.
  • Fill out the form and update any neccessary details.
  • Finally click the Update button to confirm and apply the changes.

Delete an FTP User

  • Once you are logged into the Control Panel click FTP Users in the left menu.
  • Click on the Server that has the user you want to remove.
  • Click the More Actions icon (᛫᛫᛫) on the right of the user you want to remove.
  • Click the Delete link to confirm and apply.