Managing SSH / SFTP Users

The SSH / SFTP users are essential for managing the Container's application and configuration files. You can create a SSH / FTP user when creating a new Container, but it is also possible to create aditional users

Creating SSH / SFTP users

To begin creating a SSH user, follow the simple steps below:

  1. When logged in to the SiteHost Control Panel, click the Containers module from the menu on the left.
  2. Click SSH & SFTP under Containers on the menu.
  3. You should now see a list of existing SSH users. Click the Add User option in the upper right corner of the page.
  4. Type in the Username and Password fields. You can optionally tick to select an SSH Key you have added to your account previously.
  5. Select which Server the user should be added to from the drop-down list.
  6. Check the Read Only Config option, select Yes if you wish to make the Container's config directory readonly for this user, otherwise select No.
  7. Select which Containers you would like this user to have access to.
  8. Hit the Add User button to begin creating your new user. The new user will appear in the list with a progress indicator alongside it. When the indicator disappears, the user is ready to be used.

For more information on the Read Only Config option, please see our SSH User Privileges article.

Removing SSH / SFTP users

To remove a SSH user from a Cloud Container server, do the following:

  1. Check your existing SSH / SFTP sessions to ensure all are closed for the SSH / SFTP user you are going to remove.
  2. Log in to the SiteHost Control Panel, click the Containers module from the menu on the left.
  3. Click SSH & SFTP under Containers on the menu.
  4. Locate the user in the list that you wish to remove and click the ••• icon alongside that user.
  5. Select Delete from the menu.
  6. You will be prompted to confirm the removal of the SSH user. Hit the Delete User if you wish to proceed.

Please take caution when removing a SSH user. All user data within the user's home directory (excluding data related to containers) will be permanently deleted.