Upgrading a Virtual Server

If your server is not on a contract term (and most servers with us aren't) you can upgrade your plan or add disk space at any time. It's always a good idea to be have some excess resources over and above your 'standard' usage so that your server can handle a surprise increase in traffic or a more intensive workload. We may also ask you to upgrade your server if you are regularly using more resources than your plan includes (also known as bursting or excessive CPU cycles) so you don't impact other customers on the same hardware node.

  • To begin upgrading a server, click the "Upgrade" link on the details page for the server
  • To upgrade the plan for a server, select the new plan you wish to upgrade to and click the "Upgrade Plan" button.
  • The plan that is initially selected will be the plan that your server is currently on.

Important Notes

  • Please note that when upgrading a server that is under our management you will be prompted to schedule these upgrades as they must be performed by one of our engineers.
  • If you upgrade the storage on a VPS you will be prompted to "commit" your changes before the resizing will take place – this will then reboot the VPS automatically.
  • The individual upgrades options that are available depend on the plan that the server is on.
  • If you want to decrease the storage space of your server you will need to contact us at support@sitehost.co.nz.
  • If the upgrades you are requesting are not available on this page please contact us at support@sitehost.co.nz.
  • During the upgrade process for a VPS, you may be requested to migrate your server if there are insufficient resources available on the host server. This will require shutting down the server for a few minutes (usually 5-15 minutes) while the migration takes place.